• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Good and the Bad Business!

Status
Not open for further replies.

acero97989

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Arizona
Hello I am a current trainee and on the verge of getting my Certified Residential Appraiser License. I am planning on starting my own company. I am interested in finding new clients or AMC's. I would like to ask the experienced appraisers out there, what are the good AMC's and the bad ones? Any advice on a good method of getting business when times are tough right now??? Thanks in advance for your reply!!

Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Florida
I am not currently aware of any 'good' AMCs, but will not state there are none. The vast majority of the big national AMCs are very bad.

Joker

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Ohio
Since times are tough, I'd suggest staying where you are.

Lawrence R.

Professional Status
State
South Carolina
Ditto

I have not seen any evidence that there is one AMC that consistently does appraisers any good.

Most are a hassle to work for, a hassle to get paid, and are just the straw boss for some lender who wants to have a 3rd party pressure you instead of them.

In short, AMC's are the proginy of the Devil.

Kathleen Bryce

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
State
Florida
I am planning on starting my own company. I am interested in finding new clients or AMC's. I would like to ask the experienced appraisers out there, what are the good AMC's and the bad ones? Any advice on a good method of getting business when times are tough right now??? Thanks in advance for your reply!!

Since you asked. Go nowhere Continue to support your mentor and yourself. Just because you passed an exam you are REALLY not ready for the real world.