• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Gov't Mandated Site Development fees and the cost approach

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason Cowan

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Virginia
how do government mandated site development fees fit into the cost approach, if they do at all? In my state, (Virginia), these "voluntary" fees are called building proffers, and are used to offset the costs of additional services (schools, fire and rescue squads, etc.) In some cases, these fees can be substantial, as much as $6,000 per lot. Should these be added into the cost of the site along with other site improvements such as well, and septic? Please bear with me, as I am new to this profession.

Will Trueheart

Sophomore Member
Jason,

That is a good question. These type of "proffers" are typically a cost of development and are passed on in setting the price of the lots the developer will sell.

Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Florida
called impact fees here. I've only seen one area where impact fees are sometimes passed along and added to sales. Usually it's the developer that pays it and passes it along in the individual site prices.

W

walt kirk

My county charges a fee of $2,500 to connect to the sewer system (manditory). I now add this fee to the cost approach under site improvements.

Farm Gal

Elite Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Nebraska
Jason: