• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Help! Errors & Omissions Insurance

Status
Not open for further replies.

tracyreichart

Freshman Member
I'm a newbie in Georgia. I am training with an appraisal company as an independent contractor. I have yet to locate an insurance company willing to write an errors & omissions policy on a trainee. Any suggestions?

Rob Bodkin

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Washington
Tracy,

Unless Ga is different than Washington, until you get your ticket you will be working under a mentor and supervisor right? Their E & O should cover them and anyone they sign for. If it does not, it should.

When I review and sign for my I/C or my employee (trainee) I am taking the full responsability for the report. Man i never spell that right. My policy from CRES Insurance covers me and anyone who signs a report for Freestone.

talk to your boss and have she or he check their policy.

Rob Bodkin
Freestone Partners

tracyreichart

Freshman Member
Rob,

Thank you for your reply. My supervisor and other licensed appraisers working with him, have individual E & O policies, which from what his agent tells me will cover only my supervisor. My exposure would most likely be limited to legal fees--to get my name removed from the lawsuit, which could be costly.

Thanks again.

Tracy

Em Tee

Professional Status
State
California
Tracy:

You can find the names of several E&O companies on appraiserdepot.com but I don't personally know of any that will cover a trainee. To the best of my knowledge, you have to be added to your mentor's E&O.

Best of luck!

ocvillas1

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Real Estate Agent or Broker
State
California