• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Help!I have an interview w/County Assesssors office!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Al Merrick

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Arizona
I am a trainee over 1/2 way through and I applied for the County Assessors office where I live. My license is in California but I am in Arizona so if I get the job I will need to get my Arizona License as well which they will pay for.

So I have some questions

Has Anyone worked for the County before?
What exactly do they do?
What should I be prepared for in the interview?
Is the work easier then as a fee appraiser?
Can I acrue my hours under my California License so I can become certifed in that state?

I wonder if I will even be a strong candidate since I am not licensed here and do not have a bachelors degree yet, but I do have over 1,000 logged hours working the county that I live in.

Any help would be appreciated.

ZZGAMAZZ

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California
One typically cannot accrue experience hours in state A by working in state A. CA and AZ have reciprocal privileges that make licensing in one relatively straightforward--but only after being fully licensed in the other.

The Assessor test is going to focus on your communcations skills by posing scenarios and asking you to describe your response, in multiple choice format. Also lots of geometry questions.

It's gotta be easier than being a fee appraiser; aren't all jobs?

OSU Beavers

Elite Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Oregon
Has Anyone worked for the County before? Yes, here in Oregon.

What exactly do they do? Set asessed values for every property in the county except the large State assessed industrial accounts.