• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

HELP! - NADA manufactured home appraisal

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kevin Steele

Freshman Member
Hello out there in ForumLand. I'm new to the business and need some advice. I've been approached by an attorney about doing appraisals of manufactured homes. (Yeah, I know, I should probably run the other way, but please keep reading) The values are going to be used for bankruptcy proceedings and the value must be derived using the NADA value guide since the home will be assessed as personal property rather than real estate. The land will NOT be included in the appraisal, just the structure. I'm looking for any tips on how to handle these including running the other way if its best! Maybe some pointers on what to put in the certifications and limiting conditions addendums?? The earliest school I've found for appraising manufactured homes that I will be able to attend is next year. Thanks folks.

Jo Ann Meyer Stratton

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Arizona
Although you will be doing personal property appraisals, not real property, you might want to check out my article at:

http://www.naifa.com/gram/2001oct/stratton-oct01.html

It does have links at the end of the article that might be useful. Also check the appraiser links on this site, misc, manufactured home with similar links.

Good Luck

Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Florida
The NADA system is a specific software or there are paper forms that you can fill in by hand and you will likely need the MHV classes/designation.

Go to: www.lincoln-grad.org

The company making the software quit making it last I heard. I haven't checked for a while so please let me know if it's available again.

rtubbs