• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

High Rise Signs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Long Walk

Freshman Member
Professional Status
General Public
State
New Hampshire
Greeting to the Forum!

I am new here and did not see a place to post an intro. I am a trainee for the CG license and have finished all but one class. I have 12 reports finished.

I used the search function and could not find anything on this topic. I also searched the Lum Library and found nothing. I wanted to see what I could get on my own before I asked my supervising appraiser for help.

Is there a resource that someone could point me to that would help me to understand how to analyze the contributory value (if there is any) of a high rise sign? The pole is about 50' tall and is located at an interstate exit.

Thanks for your help and I look forward to learning from you all.

Long Walk

Freshman Member
Professional Status
General Public
State
New Hampshire
Thanks, Gregb. This is a sign at a gas station. Would that be covered by the billboard analysis? It is isn't an income-producing sign.

Terrel L. Shields

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Arkansas
Would that be covered by the billboard analysis? It is isn't an income-producing sign
Probably has little contributory value if on the station site, it is a trade fixture unique to the franchise, and the depreciated cost contribution works as well as any.

Professional Status
State
Florida
This is a great exercise and congrats for your conscientousness. Don't expect textbook precision, but you might see a pattern in your sales data when an attribute like this is highly significant... this is just general advice.