• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Home backs to busy street: How to value?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LeapingGnome

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Real Estate Agent or Broker
State
Arizona
I’m a real estate agent working on a CMA for a buyer/client.

The potential purchase is a single family detached home in a large, adult retirement planned community. The home faces a busy, arterial street. I’ve looked for comps that face similarly busy streets but can’t find one. There are several sold homes in this community that could be comps except for that facet.

How would I value this property?

Thank you.

Richard Johnston

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
My suggestion is to decline this BPO and state to the company that you are not qualified to perform this valuation. They should order an appraisal from a local Qualified appraiser.

Please don't get offended..In my opinion 95% of the realtors that I know do not know how to extract adjustments.

Richard Johnston
State Certified Residential Appraiser
Licensed Real Estate Agent

LeapingGnome

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Real Estate Agent or Broker
State
Arizona
"I’m a real estate agent working on a CMA for a buyer/client."
My client is a home buyer.

An appraisal will be done during the inspection period, but our market has downward pressure on pricing, so our offer will not look just at present comps, but where we think values might be a few months down the road. Some (most?) buyers here are afraid of purchasing a home because they think if they wait a few months they'll be able to get it cheaper.

The busy street is just another issue I'd like to try to factor in.

Amy Perkins

Professional Status
State
Tennessee