• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - CompStak

CompStak is the only database of non-public CRE information that is free for CRE appraisers. Get access to 1M+ analyst-reviewed
lease and sales comps featuring all key deal details — NOI, cap rate, starting and effective rent, and more.

Home Owner Checklist - Do Or Don't?

MadamPresident

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Florida
Hi!
So I am a little new at this, so I apologize in advance if more experienced Appraisers find this repetitive or annoying...

The other day I went on an inspection with my Supervisor Appraiser. While we were inspecting the house the home owner had a ton of questions. (Mainly about nothing) I thought it might be a good idea to give the home owner a checklist for them to fill out while I did my inspection. Mainly to keep them occupied. Most home owners are just nervous, and when people get nervous they typically talk non-stop. The checklist would be of updates/renovations completed on the property or things they feel I should know. This would be a very simple, clean, self explanatory checklist. Anyone out there used this method before? Or what are your thoughts? If you have done this - does it work? Anyone willing to share their checklist?

I figured I could preoccupy the home owner while they list valuable information at the same time?

Thanks in advance, I appreciate your comments/feedback.

MP

ICT RE

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Kansas
I think it sounds like a fine idea. Have a spot for them to sign and date it too and you enjoy a little bit of CYA factor as well.

Last edited:

hillbillyman

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
West Virginia