• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

How Much Would You Charge?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brandon StCyr

Freshman Member
Can anyone give me an idea what is a good fee to appraise a 320 unit appartment complex? just a rough estimate would be fine.

Thanks

W

walt kirk

I can't tell you how much to charge however I think that you will be better able to determine what to charge after you consider how much time the appraisal will take you to do and what other costs will be.

Brandon StCyr

Freshman Member
Thanks Walt.

Acutally, I'm a newbie appraiser and a friend posed the question to me cause he's looking into buying the 320 unit complex. I think someone may have quoted him $1500 for the appraisal. I was wondering if that's fair?

Thanks

W

walt kirk

If an appraiser is going to charge $1,500 to appraise a 320 unit apartment complex that appraiser is either a fool or not prepared to do a proper report. A report on an apartment property of this scale requires a thorough knowledge of the market and the ability to analyse the financial performance of the city and to project income and expense data.

Any appraiser with this ability and a proven professional record will charge a lot more than $1,500. Maybe you should add another zero.

Restrain

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Florida