• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

How to become FHA approved

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarkRichmond

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Hi folks,

I was wondering what hoops I need to jump through to become FHA approved here in sunny (not!) Madison, WI?
 

Mountain Man

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
http://www.HUD.gov/offices/reac/products/s...a/sfa_apart.cfm

This is their registration page.

Or go to their home page at HUD.gov for more info. On the very right hand side of the page you will see a section labled: Information For.... , go down to the Housing Industry section and under there you will see in mice type appraisers. Click on the "appraisers" section to look up resources and ax questions.


P.S. Once you are approved, you have got to remember to fax a copy of your renewed license into the REAC every year. They wont ask for it or send you a notice, you just have to remember. If you forget, it is a pain to become re-activated and almost takes an act of Congress. Lesson from experience. :oops:

Mell.
 

Keri

Freshman Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Oklahoma
Hey Mark,

I'm not sure how many hours you have logged, but I think FHA requires 2000, reguardless of whether you are licensed or not. Another woman and I went through the web site, talked to numerous people at HUD, studied like crazy for a week, PASSED the friggin' test, then were denied because licensing in the state of OK is not currently up to AQB standards (which is an FHA requirement). Even if you have been appraising for years, unless you are certified in OK, you just can't get your FHA approval. Just a warning. Many people in various offices told us that it would be no problem as long as we had a license, but be sure to double check that your license complies with AQB standards.

Good luck,

Keri
 

Mike Garrett RAA

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Colorado
You need to pass the silly exam, get an exam prep book and study for a week, you will pass. HUD requires a minimum of two years experience to be placed on their roster. You can take the test prior to completing the time requirement.
 

Leon Stewart

Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002

http://www.HUD.gov/offices/reac/products/s...a/sfa_apart.cfm

This is their registration page.

Or go to their home page at HUD.gov for more info. On the very right hand side of the page you will see a section labled: Information For.... , go down to the Housing Industry section and under there you will see in mice type appraisers. Click on the "appraisers" section to look up resources and ax questions.


P.S. Once you are approved, you have got to remember to fax a copy of your renewed license into the REAC every year. They wont ask for it or send you a notice, you just have to remember. If you forget, it is a pain to become re-activated and almost takes an act of Congress. Lesson from experience. :oops:

Mell.

You must have done something wrong, because it's not that difficult to get "reactivated". I know, it happened to me when I forgot to fax in my renewal one year. All I did was fax in evidence of my renewal, and it was recorded the next day, and I didn't talk to anybody.

leart3
 

G-man

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2002
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Ohio
As a newly licensed appraiser in Ohio, all this info is very informative. This is my first post to this forum, and really haven't visited this site in a while. It looks very nice! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks