• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

I Feel The Tough Times Coming On

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stephen A. Santini

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
California
Hello to all out there in appraiser land. I've been a licensed trainee in CA. for about three months now. I've spent around $7,500 between schooling,test and office supplies(computer,software,fax ect...) I found this great mentor so Im feeling pretty good about my ability to work. Now the interest rates go up, re-fi's slow WAY down and I hoping that I will be able to make a living here in the comming months. I was with a big company for 17 years when (while I was recovering from a major knee surgery) they elimenated my position. So I've put a lot of my eggs in the appraisal basket. Not looking too good right now. I really hope that Im not out pounding the pavement for a minimum wage job after all of these great expectations of becomming a succesful appraiser. Im not going to throw in the towel yet though. I've been contacting potential clients both locally and far away trying to "get on the list". I just hope that things do go totally in the toilet from here on out. Good luck to all of you.

Steve Gish

Sophomore Member
Kind of disheartening isn't it. My first 4 weeks of job hunting, everyday I heard "I'm too busy to train anyone right now". The last two weeks it's been "my work load disappeared and I can't share what little I have." <_<

I'm ready to attatch myself to the first "warm body" who'll spend 2 days a week with me and feed me 3 or 4 a month until I get my own.

Luckily I have small pension to survive on until something get's going.

Dee Dee

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Colorado