• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Illegal to introduce myself as an appraiser if I'm a trainee?

Buster206

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Washington
Hi All!

So a reviewer has taken umbrage with me introducing myself as an appraiser to a property owner that I was confirming a sale with. I said essentially "Hi, my name is Buster, and I'm an appraiser working on..." The reviewer (we were discussing how I confirmed my comps), stopped me and said that it's illegal for me to represent myself as an appraiser if I'm not licensed, and as of right now has rejected our appraisal as having been done illegally, and has stated that he is going to report me to the licensing board for disciplining.

I don't think I mis-represented myself to the property owner of the comparable sale, I signed the report as a licensed trainee, and my supervising appraiser also signed the report. I did not generate any business under the pretense of being a certified appraiser, nor did I make any claim to the client that I was a certified appraiser.

Has this happened to anyone else? Thoughts?

BRCJR

Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Virginia
I don't see it as illegal. You may need to be certain you are not misleading.

Joe Flacco

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Maryland
Strange reviewer and strange story. I don't understand how the way you introduced yourself to a homeowner would come up in a discussion with a reviewer.

Reactions: DTB

Michigan CG

Staff member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Michigan
Reviewer from where? He is asking how you confirm your sales? Is that a typical conversation to have with a reviewer? Sounds like someone with a Napoleon complex.

CANative

Elite Member
Professional Status
State