• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Income Approach For Single Family Residential

Status
Not open for further replies.

aaron778

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Banking/Mortgage Industry
State
Texas
Wanted to get some appraiser's feedback/opinions on the topic. I work in the banking industry and have been asked by an examiner why we did not place emphasis on the income approach for a single family residence. Appraiser did a sales, cost, and income approach (used GIM) in the appraisal and the income was much less than the sales and cost approaches. A little bit about the property. It is located in a resort beach town where many of the homes are 2nd homes/vacation homes. There are retirees and wealthy individuals that make their primary residence there but the split is about 60/40 maybe 65/35 2nd homes to primary residences. So people do rent them out while they do not occupy them. I guess I can understand the question and in this particular instance the property IS rented at non arms length to a related affiliate of the borrower (oral agreement only, no lease agreement, and no business is being conducted there). My rebuttal was I've seen that these properties seldom generate sufficient rents to pay the mortgage, insurance, taxes, maintenance, etc. The borrowers/owners have to pay out of pocket to support it. Nobody pays $10,000 a month 12 months out of the year to stay there. It's a seasonal rental. Also since this is a single family residence, an owner occupant would pay more to live in it than investor would to just rent it out. Haven't gotten a reply but wanted to see what other professional appraisers would be seeing. Maybe I missed something.

Terrel L. Shields

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Arkansas