• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

Internet Explorer 6.0 won't work on my Dell

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave Smith

Thread Starter
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Wisconsin


I have always used Netscape as my browser but now I have had to install Explorer because BankOne won't allow the use of Netscape to access their web site at "bankonevendors.com."

Neither I nor my ISP techie, Bob (and he is good!) can get Explorer to work right. We have installed version 6.0 on my Dell XPS 500 computer, with Zone Alarm 2.6 as my firewall. Netscape and several other programs I use all work fine.

Bob has installed Explorer 6.0 twice on my machine, without success. When started up Explorer will connect to the ISP server but Zone Alarm does not react even though ZA doesn't have Explorer approved for access to the web.

After my connection to the ISP is made Explorer comes up with an error message stating that the web start up page could not be displayed. We have tried running Explorer with ZA disabled, no luck. We have tried running it with virtually all programs in the system tray closed out, no luck.

We click on the Explorer "Help" tab and then on "About IE Explorer" at which point Explorer freezes up. It then takes three or four attempts with Ctrl-Alt-Del to get Explorer to shut down.

Bob has researched the Microsoft Knowledge base, found three articles that seemed to deal with the topic, with no success at solving the problem.

Bob then called Microsoft tech support. Of course they said they had never heard of our situation and had no suggestions for solving it.

Bob says it looks like a "TCP binding issue" to him. Has anyone encountered this problem? Any suggestions or solutions?

Thanks,

 

airphoto

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Dave,

Have you gone into IE's properties and redefined your start-up page to something other than what M/S sent to you? If I recall, it's delivered expecting to log onto MSN, or some other M/S shill ..

On the other hand (where she wore a glove, and had four fingers) if you can't get InterNut Explorer to even start, that's another horse ..
 

jtrotta

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Dave,

have a Dell - and had to load some software; when I went on MS stated it needed to upgrade, it went on and did what it was suppose to and walla bam, screwed up everything, got hold of Dell and they said they were having many problems with Ex6, so the easy thing to do would be to remove it - and he told me how and when I read him what came next - he said - uh oh - I new that was the begining of the end.

SPent 4 days with Dell techs - deleteing and restoreing all my stuff; will tell you this, make "back ups" right now before anything else happens; I wound up loosing 5 new files, that I couldn't salvage.

Good Luck :!:

8)
 

Nancy in Friday Harbor

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Washington
Dave,

I bought a new Dell w/XP in Feb and my techie told me right off the bat to disable/not install IE6.0. I'm using Outlook Express and a Netgear "Web Safe Router" with a DSL line with no trouble whatsoever. Knock on wood.

Have been EDI'ing reports with no problems.

Good luck. And follow trotta's advice -- back everything up, quick!!
 

airphoto

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Dave,

You might try downloading and installing "Opera." Perhaps you can access the necessary sites with that ..
 

Jeff Horton

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Alabama
IE 5.5 is still available on their web site. I use it because of all the problems I have heard with 6.0. I just downloaded it last week so I know it is still there.

Try that and see if that doesn't fix your problem.
 

Dave Smith

Thread Starter
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Wisconsin
Jeff:

I tried 5.5 first. It did exactly the same thing as 6.0 did later.

Thanks.
 

mikegoff

Sophomore Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Florida
Wow, thanks for the warning....I was just fixin to order a Dell. Now that I know there are compatability problems, I'll ask that question in writing. Maybe the cow puter is the way to go? Again this forum has prevented me from stepping in the "pie"
 

Dave Smith

Thread Starter
Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Wisconsin
Mike:
I'm not convinced my problem is Dell related. I doubt that it is as no one else has come up with the combination of Dell and IE being a problem.

I like my Dell and would buy another one in a minute.

The problem is most likely to be a software issue between IE and something on my Dell but no one has been able to find the problem, duplicate it, or offer a solid suggestion so far.

Last Friday my contact at Bank One said I CAN access their site with Navigator 6.+. I don't have it and really don't feel like getting into another installation process in hopes it works.

For now I am going to coninue to do business with Bank One the old fashioned way.... paper and postage or FedEx. :lol:
 

Ted Martin

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Kansas
Try reinstalling Outlook. Outlook and IE use a lot of the same DLL files and settings. It maybe that you installed an older version of Outlook over the newer IE. Try uninstalling both Outlook, IE and Netscape, shut down the computer let it set for a minute or so and then reinstall IE and Netscape, hold off on Outlook unless you are using Outlook Express which is part of IE's full install. You might try installing IE before Netscape. Install IE before Netscape and make sure you have the latest Netscape.

Spoken with authority, but these are a wild guess on my part.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks