• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Is a rent survey an appraisal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne K Hansen

Sophomore Member
I've been asked to do just a rent survey on a house. I'm a trainee and I'd like to do it but it is a long way away and I'm pretty sure my Mentor won't want to do it. Can I do this legally as a trainee without my mentor? Is it considered an appraisal? If I can do it do I include it on my work log? And How much would I charg for this?

Terrel L. Shields

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Arkansas
A rent survey is not an appraisal. It is consulting. As long as you are not drawing a conclusion of value for a subject, you are not appraising and are not bound by Std. 1 and 2.

As a consulting assignment your appraisal lic. is not an issue, and I would not evoke it unless your state requires same. It might be if other Real Estate services may be covered by Real Estate law not appraisal laws.

ASB tried to get rid of Std. 4, 5 a couple of years ago, and should have. It has no more to do with appraising than bullfighting has to do with the Dept. of Agriculture.

It likely won't count on your experience log. Charge a fee per hour with some allowance for clerical work at a lower rate (imho). I have a two tier system. Clerical and research is $30/hr. Analysis and Report writing at $60/hr. With good access to good MLS data, or even by phone surveying, you should have a whole bunch of data in one hour. Locally, I know a couple of Realtors who basically sell little or no real estate but are property managers. They have tons of data. Find one. Write the report as a narrative using Std. 5 as a guide.

ter

Steve Owen

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
Missouri