• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Is There A 20% Rule On Sqft Adjustments?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chas

Freshman Member
Professional Status
General Public
State
California
I am a Veteran trying to purchase a property in a small gated community. Prior to Dec, sales were slow; suddenly the market has had sales within 10 to 21 days of a property being listed. The problem is, the townhome I am buying has 1374 sqft has comps from Dec from $214K to $238K. No other townhomes with this sq footage have since been listed for sale. One townome with 361 more sqft closed 7 days before the appraisal at $265K; but appraiser refused to use that comp and adjust for sqft difference telling us it has more than 20% more sqft than subject. BUT the subject property is waterfront/waterview and none of the comps including the one for $265K have that. My offer price was $240K which I felt was a fair price if another property sold for $265K a week earlier with 361 sqft and had not view whatsover & backed up to a parking lot. So is there a hard fast rule in USPAP that absolutely states an appraiser cannot pic a comp with sqft 20% more than subject. I had to cancel escrow & lose the cost of appraisal and home inspection because she came in at a value of $210K using two old comps from Dec 2016 and one from Oct 2016 vs one in Dec at $238K and the one at $265K that had 361 more sqft. We asked VA to reivew the apprisal and ask why appraiser did not use a recent comp of $238K and they gave no answer except stating that appraisal stands. So is there a hard fast rule of 20% that can't be broken? Any ideas on what to do??? Thank you :)

Terrel L. Shields

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Arkansas