• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Is this a conflict of interest?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CatherineR

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
New Mexico
I'm a new Apprentice and looking for ways to get in my 2500 hours. I'm also a Realtor. An Appraiser friend of mine had a suggestion on how I might be able to get a lot of hours in. He suggested I ask my Qualifying Broker to "hire" me for zero dollars to do an appraisal for all of the listings in the office. The appraisals would be for the benefit of the office only and would not be for the property owner or any sales transaction of the property. He then suggested that I could possibly work an arrangement with my Supervisor where I pay my Supervisor, say, a $50 fee per appraisal to have my Supervisor review each appraisal. It will cost me some money, but I will get in my hours. I like his idea but I'm concerned that there is too much potential for conflict of interest with doing this in the office where I am a Realtor. Do you think this is a conflict of interest? And what if I did this with another real estate office, where I am not a Realtor? I have a good enough relationship with a couple of Qualifying Brokers that they might be willing to hire me for no money to do an appraisal for each of their listings. What do you think?

David Wimpelberg

Staff member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
New York