• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

It is every bit as tough as they say!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

DavidBrown

Freshman Member
Hi everyone,

I am finishing my second month of Appraisal as a trainee. My mentor is terrific and I have learned a lot. Still, it takes me about a week to 10 days to finish an Appraisal. Usually, it goes through many edits until it is worded and executed correctly. My two month total for earnings is about $600. And I worked at least 40 hours a week.

I am a part time College Student, so just took a part time job at the college to help out. Although I feel I will improve, I could never imagine how anyone could get an appraisal per day, or even more amazingly, 2 per day done. I am working on my Masters in Comp Science and hope the economy will turn around and provide me with some options.

I would highly advise those thinking of leaving there day jobs to think twice, maybe three times before doing so. You cannot appreciate the learning curve and time it will take just to not make a fool of yourself.

I think of it like a School Internship. You must pay your dues. Anyone care to tell how long it took to become even adequate?

Thanks,

Dave

Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Florida
I'm always still learning.

Started working with a builder in 1970; construction inspections, working up purchase/sale agreements, working up closings, doing the closings, etc.
Licensed real estate agent in 1972; sold new and used houses; worked with a developer and surveyor; completed FHA project reviews throughout the state of Michigan.
77/78; worked at a mortgage lender, selling mortgages (hated it)
I've rehabbed and rebuilt some houses, often by myself.