• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Just thought I'd throw this out there!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jonathan Davey

Freshman Member
Well, Im a newbie (not yet working)but also a builder/broker. I've been reading as much as I can about appraising and the business of appraising. I'm somewhat suprised at myriad of headaches appraisers seem to have, this concerning every thing from client theft of trainees, drive bys, lender pressure, getting foot in the door as a newbie, non-payment , proposed elimination of appraisals by fannie mae (50$ fee) while simultainiusly complaining of their performance, etc, etc etc.

So my point: have any of the appraisers ever considered forming a union!

A strong union would take care of a myriad of problems (not all). Imagine if someone didn't pay: lawyer, whoever and they were blacklisted! Imagine if the union refused to accept any fannie mae work, if they continued with the no appraisal option. Imagine if there was a code of conduct with teeth for theft of funds from employer, or if non-compete clauses were violated.

Just a thought!

Restrain

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Florida
The Guild is trying to get this started. The problem with organizing appraisers is like the "herding cats" commercial. We all want to go our own ways. This is reflective through the myrid number of appraisal organizations. How many accounting organizations are there - 1. How many appraisal organizations are there - I've lost count.

As long as we continue to pull in separate ways, organization and power will be pretty much impossible.

Roger

Mountain Man

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
First, welcome to the forum.