• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Learning about the "quick sale" and "liquidation value"

Status
Not open for further replies.

mpb5431

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Arizona
Okay, I've been looking through a lot of posts to try and learn more about this.

I am trying to work with a agent who doesn't know exactly what they want (SOW & definition of value) and I'm not experienced enough with this to guide the process.

I'm looking for educational resources to learn more about developing an appraisal for a quick sale/pre-forclosure/liquidation value type assignment?

The agent's goal:
-To speed up the process of a short sale with the bank.
-BPO is higher than any current offerings from the agents' clients.
-Agent would like to have an appraisal showing the value this bank should really expect (agents is assuming it will be different than the BPO)

Lot's of relevant issues have been brought up on previous posts; however as we all know...the threads tend to go off in all sorts of directions subverting my attention.

Some of the topics I'm interested in learning more about:

1) When to use "as-is" vs. subject to repairs, etc. (what factors are the clients considering to determine what they want?)

2) Typically these are drive-by "inspections", there must be concerns with that.

3) When researching the market conditions how do I clearly communicate the current market as far as foreclosures/pending foreclosures/current listings/conditions of sales, etc. Are there any "key characteristics to note" or "generally accepted statistics" helpful to the client?

4) I've never had an appraisal assignment asking for value bracketing, high/low/most likely (When/why/how does one approach this)