• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Looking For Help With Trainee License Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

DMelt19

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Illinois
Just got blindsided by this problem. I'll try to be brief.

I'm an Illinois Appraiser Trainee, in the process of getting the General License. By "in the process" I mean my application was submitted in August, approved in September, and I'm scheduled to take the exam in October. But my trainee license expires on Saturday.

By Illinois law, you can only renew a trainee license twice. I got my license in January 2013, had to renew it 8 months later, and then renewed again in 2015. I just went to renew and was told I can't do that because I've already done it twice. Completely forgot about the 2013 renewal just months after I got my license.

So as of Saturday, I'm no longer licensed as a trainee and I'm still a good 2-3 months away from getting my general license. You can see the problem that causes. (An obvious criticism is that it shouldn't have taken me this long. But I work at a small firm, don't make a ton of money, and those classes aren't cheap (I pay 50% of the costs). I probably could've been more aggressive but please look past that part of this for the sake of discussion)

Here are my questions:

1. Should I be concerned that I'm going to have issues getting the General license when there's going to be a time period when I will have no active license?

2. Any suggestions on who to talk to or where to pursue the possibility of some sort of waiver/exemption/appeal to extend the life of my trainee license until I get the General one? Pursuing a few avenues of my own, but any points in the right direction would be a massive help.

That probably wasn't brief. My apologies. But thanks for reading.

Mike Kennedy