• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

McDonalds Appraisal or What's the Problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randy Beigh

Nearly all businesses have undergone severe and dramatic changes in the past 20 years. I think a combination of newer ideas, technology, and a changing economic climate have all helped to bring this about. We have all come to expect the changes and don't even give much more than passing thought when some company like a K Mart or United Airlines have to change.

But, when it comes to appraisal, we tend to think that the only way to do this job is the way we have all grown up with. Why?

We have seen massive changes in nearly all other phases of real estate, why would anybody think appraising won't change? I have been hearing about the demise of appraising since 1989, but that isn't going to happen. What is going to happen is massive change that all of us had either adapt to or at the verry least, acknowledge, or it will be the end of the appraisers that can't change, in other words, their demise.

It seems there are a few companies out there(some on this forum) that may be the future of the industry and maybe not. Time will tell, but it doesn't matter, the writing is on the wall. Change or die. Even if none of the experiments currently in effect survive, somebody else will find a better way than the way we have been doing the job.

There are several national real estate companies, but no national appraisal firms, except AMC's. I think that will change and while it has been tried and failed, somebody will build on those past failures and I think that is good and positive for the profession, not the great satan that some writing into this forum think. In other words, there will be a McDonald's Appraisal operation.