• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Mentor involvement

HikeAndBike

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Utah
Hey all. I'm an appraisee trainee who is currently worked under a commercial appraiser. I'm curious - for a trainee, what is a typical level of involvement or mentoring from a mentor?

Currently, I receive some limited help if I ask for it, but I'm generally left to figure things out for myself.

IlliniApp

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Illinois
How much experience to you have as a trainee? If just beginning, you should be accompanying him or her on inspections, and your supervisor should be sitting down with you and walking you through the process. In Illinois you need to accrue 500 hours of experience before you can begin doing your own inspections. IMO you should start off as your supervisor's shadow and gradually be weaned off. The more help you get at the start, the better foundation you will have going forward and the less mentoring you will need until you upgrade your license.

IlliniApp

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Illinois
"Utah Administrative Rule requires that Supervisory Appraisers personally inspect a minimum of 35 residential and/or 20 commercial properties with each Trainee."

I'm not sure how common this is, but when I was hired my supervisor wasn't aware of the state regs with regard to the supervisor/trainee relationship. I was simply brought in to help him and expand his business. We both had to learn the process together.

A K

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Maryland