• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Mentors Not Paying?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

AngelinaWynn

Freshman Member
First I must say I have been greatly awakened by this profession. I am still a trainee, and have acctually found 3 different mentors to take me in. Sounds great so far huh? Well the first one owes me $3200, the second one owes me $675, I didn't let that one get to far, experienced now! The third one is a dream. Is it typical for a mentor to just not pay the trainee? If everything was a verbal contract, can I do anything to get my money, and yes, I did the work!! He says that he will pay when he gets paid. How do I know if he has been paid? I only know he is not paying me, or the 2 other people that worked for him. I have been told the check is in the mail, nothing arrives. Any advice out there? Would love to know what to do. Would also like to warn anyone else these guys take in. Thanks for your help. Angelina

Mountain Man

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
Angelina, I honestly don't know if there is anything you can do. As far as going to court, a verbal contract is nothing but your word against his. The only thing I know you can do is keep being the squeaky wheel, thorn in the side, most irritating debtor. But unfortunately, it sounds as if your previous mentor is in a really tight money crunch, so it may take a while..... if ever. :(
Good luck, and glad you found a better mentor. :)

Tim Hicks (Texas)

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Texas
I hope all the newbies on this forum are reading this thread. It is, indeed, a danger. If appraisal fraud is so rampant, I am sure we have plenty of appraisers out there who do not pay their help. Its pretty sad when you can't get paid your 30%.

Em Tee