• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Need Advice For Appraisal Interview?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheTruth

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
California
Hello, I am a newly licensed Trainee and needed some advice. I have an interview tomorrow and was looking for any advice or resources to prepare? If anyone has any advice, on basic questions a future mentor might ask, I would greatly appreciate it? Or if you have any experience interviewing trainees, what do you look for in a good candidate? Thanks!

BRCJR

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Virginia
Neat appearance and honest answers will serve you well. A good mentor will realize you do not, necessarily, know the answer to all the possible questions they could ask.

bnmappraisal

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
If anyone has any advice, on basic questions a future mentor might ask
Do you know what an appraisal is? (this would be my FIRST question; probably even as I'm on the phone with you BEFORE setting up an actual in person interview) - it sounds dumb, but MANY "potential" trainees/wannabe's have no clue
Do you have a 4 yr/bachelor's degree?
What is your goal 5 years from now? (I know this is a "typical" interview question for any job, but with a minimum 2yr trainee period, I'd like to know if you're going to bail after you get your Cert or if you plan on sticking around, etc)
Why do you want to be an appraiser?
Can you go 2+ yrs with limited income? (based on the trainee generally not making "crazy $$$")
Are you an analytical person?
Do you work well alone? (much of appraising is individual work; not many "team" projects)
Can you be unbiased?
Do you have a reliable vehicle?

bnmappraisal