• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Need Guidance

Status
Not open for further replies.

1forcole

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Maryland
I am new to the forum and would like your help. I was an independent contractor for an appraisal firm for the past 14 years. Recently, with out any warning the work stopped coming. (surprise, surprise!). Here is my problem.
The owner of the company installed the appraisal program on my home computer. This holds all my files. I then emailed them to their office and they reviewed report, signed it, and send it to the lender. They also have all my hard copies of my files. (I know I was stupid, but thought I would be working for them forever!).

Now, the owner of the company is saying I have to remove the program from my computer. I did not sign anything when it was installed. I believed this was a put on my computer for me to keep the files I had done.
He has gone so far as to deduct money per day from what they owe me until I remove the program.

My questions are:
Am I required by law to remove this program? Can I get my signature card back?
Can he legally deduct money from jobs I have done until the program is removed?
Appreciate your help!

Ed Falkowski MAI SRA

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
I am new to the forum and would like your help. I was an independent contractor for an appraisal firm for the past 14 years. Recently, with out any warning the work stopped coming. (surprise, surprise!). Here is my problem.