• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

Need help about measuring devices

Status
Not open for further replies.

soman somu

Freshman Member
I a new person to this forum, I am a civil engineer primarily doing Valuation ( ie appraisal ) in India , well in India only civil engineers are entitled to do appraisal, In India almost all, measure the building using tape only, I had seen some advertisement in net about ultrasonic and laser measuring devices which can measure up to 50 feet, which are below $100 ( ie cool 5000 bugs in Indian rupees), I am contemplating to buy it,I want to know how efficient it is to measure the outer measurements using these devices, does anybody using it

Soman somu
Tirupur
Tamilnadu, INDIA

Chris Harrison

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Utah
I do use a ultrasonic device. It only works if you have a fairly large flat surface to bounce the signal off. Like doing the indentation of an odd shaped building. I can do most attached porches and decks. It's great for interior dimensions as long as there are no obstructions between the device and the opposing wall. My device is made by Zircon Corporation and was under $50. They have a web site at www.zircon.com. It won't replace the tape measure or laser devices for all your needs but does speed up my measuring of odd shaped structures. Hope this helps.

Chris Harrison
Orem, Utah

Farm Gal

Elite Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Nebraska