• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

Networking 2 computers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bill S

Thread Starter
Junior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Illinois
Does anyone know if it is possible to network 1 computer running windows 98 and another running xp? Both have ethernet cards. If it's possible can you please explain how.

Thanks :p
 

airphoto

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Bill S.,

Now this is gonna sound simple .. but it is .. from your 'start' button, go to help and networking .. 8)

Essentially, you're gonna connect the two network cards with the appropriate cable .. either the flat-wire, or rg58U ..

Go to one 'puter, and using WinDoze Explorer 'share' out the drive (make it available for sharing by the other 'puter.)

Go to the other 'puter, hit "start" and choose 'search.' One of your choices should be 'another computer on the network' or some such ..

Once you find the other 'puter you're going to need to go to WinDoze Explorer on the second machine and 'map' a network drive .. that'll name the drive from the 'shared' machine...

(Incidentally, you'll need to have loaded networking capability in WinDoze on each computer.)

The search should find the other computer, and the file you'd offered.

Now .. that's an oversimplification, and WinDoze is gonna conspire to aggravate the livin' beJeesus out of ya .. but follow the yella brick road on your 'help' screens and it'll all come out ..

Incidentally, if you're using the older co-ax cable you must have the 50 ohm 'dead ends' on a t-fitting at each computer. Won't work, otherwise, and only a 50 ohm resistor is gonna do it ..

I know you'll have questions .. and don't be shy!

Cheers!
 

Bill S

Thread Starter
Junior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Illinois
Thanks for the input Bill. One question, if one of the network cards is currently being used with a dsl modem, is there some sort of adapter that can "T" that card for 2 uses? Otherwise what are my options
 

airphoto

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Bill S.,

You've got me on that one .. kinda don't think so .. might require second network card. I'm told one can use one DSL modem to multiple computers, but have no background in doing so .. know it's possible to have both DSL and dial-up modems in one machine. Have the feeling that for less than $20/card it's prolly less costly to put in the second card than to get involved with the various other pieces of hardware and cabling necessary to make the other work .. though you might wish both machines to have access to the DSL modem ..

In that case, DSL modem would be cabled to a router (they call DSL modems routers, as well) and each 'puter cabled to the router .. buy all the stuff at Staples, or CompUSA or by mail ..

Once hooked in that fashion, I'd expect that the DSL Modem and each 'puter would just be nodes on the network and shared as per my prior post ..

Somebody else is gonna have to help us out here ..

Cheers!
 

Mike

Freshman Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2002
Win98 Second Edition has the capability to share a DSL connection among more than one computer if the other computers are networked to the Win98SE machine. The Windows Help file explains most of the details and the Windows 98 Resource Kit (included on the Win98 CD) has quite a bit of info also. I found the only tricky part to be getting the machines networked. I ended up buying a network hub, rather than try a direct wire connection between the two machines, altho I'm told that can work, with the right cable. I have 2 Win98 computers networked and sharing a DSL connection, which enables both machines to be online simultaneously, as well as have the same telephone line available as a dedicated fax line (also at the same time - apparently uses different part of the frequency spectrum!). Good Luck!
 

Mountain Man

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Georgia
I think the two easiest ways are like Mike did it, with a hub, or pier to pier with a cross over cable. Cross overs can be bought at most computer stores. Network cards are cheap now (around $20 each online) and you will need two. One for each 'puter.
Mell.
 

TONY B

Freshman Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
I recently networked two computers. one with Win98/2e and the other with XP. I initially had problems with the older computer seeing the XP computer. XP will walk you through the networking steps. I recommend using a linksys dsl/cable router (the guy at the store will help you with the correct cables). When the two computers are hooked into the router you will have to go online with the old computer using 98 and go to the Microsoft Windows website and download all the patches for 98, but most importantly, you will need to download explorer 6! that is the trick to let the 98 puter see the XP puter. I'm not a techie and it only took me 2 hours to complete the job.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks