• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

New Build Comps

Status
Not open for further replies.

GaryDodd

Freshman Member
I'm just getting into the business, and have read some threads thus far that are Extremely helpful to us novice and "trying to be ethical" appraisers. My situation/question is this, I have a request to do an appraisal on a property that is near construction completion. The mortgage co sent me the purchase contract of the client. I WANT to use other recently built/purchased homes in this new subdivision, but there isn't alot listed in the auditors office yet since these properties are fairly new. I called the Developer (Dominion Homes), and they were gracious enough to give me recent sales of homes just down the street with the same floorplan. However, I don't know if they're the same elevation, sq ftage, etc. Assuming I could get this info from either the homeowner (not likely) or Dominion, can I use these comps?

Also, I saw other comps that are much smaller in public recs, but the sales dates are all listed as 2001, but the mortgage dates are within 2002. (I understand this means the contract signed in 2001, closing happened in 2002 after construction). The definition of Sales Date from my Real Estate Appraisal Manual is the day it CLOSED, so can I still use these comps even though I'm really using the Mortgage Date and not the actual Contracted Sale Date? Sorry for the rambling...

rtubbs