• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

New construction inflated appraisal

Status
Not open for further replies.

GrandmaK

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Real Estate Agent or Broker
State
North Carolina
I am a realtor and I have a client getting ready to close on a new construction home. They are using the mortgage company that is owned by the national home building company. I am trying to prevent my client from purchasing a home that is not valued correctly. The appraisal has come in using comps of homes in the neighborhood but are built by another builder (more upscale than my clients track builder). These comps are more than six months old and there have been at least a dozen homes close in the last six months for the track builder but were not used per the appraiser due to the fact that the my client has more upgrades than any other home that the appraiser has chosen to use. After some research I have been able to ascertain that there were other comps with many upgrades that could have been used but were not. We have ordered an independent appraisal and should have it by Monday. I have spoken to several appraisers in the area and they seem to think that the appraiser may be selecting properties to get the value of the house for the purchase price at the time of contract back in June. Please advise what we should do. I don't want them having negative equity because someone may be trying to hold on to a national company's business.

TJSum

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Maryland
"They are using the mortgage company that is owned by the national home building company. "