• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

New Construction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christine Barton

Freshman Member
I am considering becoming an appraiser and have been reading the posting on this site. Unfortunately, I must say most postings are a bit discouraging, but I realize there are good and bad points to every endeavor. I have lived in Charlotte County Florida for 10 years and the new residential construction is incredible. I am currently a financial analyst for an Internet company, am extremely computer literate, and have been in the accounting field for over 15 years. I also worked for a large homebuilder whose business doubled within the 2 years I was there. I was responsible for keeping track of the progress of over 60 new homes in order to call the bank for draws, as well as order surveys. I recently spoke with one of my contacts who is the VP of residential lending at SunTrust Bank and she told me that it used to take about 2-3 days to get an appraisal, but now it is taking 10-14 days, which is holding up the mortgage process. According to a Department for Economic Development newsletter, the estimated growth for a town near my home is estimated to grow from 27,000 residents currently to about 250,000 by 2010. I am currently working, on an as needed basis, for a company in Arizona doing new construction bank inspections. When I spoke with the contact at SunTrust she informed me that the appraiser is paid to do these inspections so that is how I became interested in appraising. The VP at SunTrust told me that she believed it is an excellent field to get into in my area and she thought I would be very good at it. In speaking with just a few of my local contacts that are realtors and mortgage people, they told me to let them know as soon as I become able to perform appraisals. I have many