• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

New To Forums.........

Status
Not open for further replies.

tedflanders

Sophomore Member
Hi everyone! I am new to the appraisal business and found this site to be full of useful information. I am a dislocated Systems Administrator who has changed careers. Yes, I have read all of the posts about why you shouldnt become an appraiser. Didnt scare me off. I am a hard worker, detail oriented, organized, comitted, love working with numbers and have a construction background. I read that I should make about 20k first year, that is fine, it will be an 8k raise from unemployment. Even though it is 1/3 of what I was making in my previous job. I finished my appraisal classes, passed my state exam and have a mentor who is going to sign off for me. I have 4 companies that "said" they will give me work, plus my mentor will throw some work my way. All I can do is work hard, listen, learn and with a few breaks I should be alright. Time will tell.

Restrain

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Florida
Welcome to the insanity known as appraising. Glad to have you joining in the fun here at the forum. You'' never lack for help, advise, and some off-the-wall jokes and comments.

And good luck with your new career.

Roger

Larry Lyke

Welcome, tedflandes ~

You'll do just fine. You're already over the biggest hurdle -- attitude.

And once you'd overcome the doom-'n-gloom scenarios of being an entrepreneur.

All the breaks you get from now on are of your own choosing (?making?) -- mostly.

Unless you believe in fate, like I do.

Looking back, fate can just be another word for, like you say, working hard, paying attention and enjoying every moment I'm here.

Best o'future.

Blue1

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
California