• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Newly Certified & Wanting To Go Out On My own

Del Toro

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Texas
I have been a trainee in Texas for 3 years and have recently passed my certification exam. Will panels/AMCs sign up a newly certified residential appraiser or do they require a certain amount of experience?

EddieB

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
There was a time that most AMCs required either 3-5 years after the CR but that may be different now. Your best bet is to call and ask them.

bnmappraisal

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
State
Florida
First off, congrats on passing your CR. That's something

Second though ... Why are you so anxious to leave your current employer? Were they that bad to work with/for?

Third, as Eddie says above, AMCs are a big factor and each have their own protocols, so reach out to them and ask their criteria. It's probably going to take some time, but only they can answer that question

CGgonnabee

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Virginia

Second though ... Why are you so anxious to leave your current employer? Were they that bad to work with/for?

Third, as Eddie says above, AMCs are a big factor and each have their own protocols, so reach out to them and ask their criteria. It's probably going to take some time, but only they can answer that question
Good food for thought. The immediate separation (usually rapid and without notice) of trainees from their mentors (typically upon licensure/certification) is why it's hard for those wanting to enter the profession to find supervisors. Think about it before you burn your bridge.

bnmappraisal

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
State
Florida
Very good point, CG (y)