• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Not sure where to go from here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

suitcase

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Texas
I am a trainee and thought that everything was set. I was doing research for commercial real estate and getting paid for it. I really loved my job, however I was laid off yesterday because we simply don't have any more work to do. I have no where near the amount of commercial experience that I need (I have 6 months) to be certified and I have never even attempted residential. I have completed or assisted in approximately 20 narrative reports. I have a bachelor's degree in Real Estate and Appraisal work is what I want to do. The thing is, now that I am unemployed I'm not really sure what the next step is. I want to continue to work in the appraisal industry but my head is spinning. I need advice. Please tell me the normal trainee process. And please no sarcastic remarks about how I should take business from AMC and ruin the life's of established appraisers. Reading those posts is getting kind of old. I am legit and want to seriously make this my career. I am just at a point that I hoped I wouldn't be. I need to know what to do now. Thanks in advance.

BRCJR

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Virginia
There will be no right or wrong answers to your question(s).

It is very slow out there. I work for a lender and the LO's indicate it is as slow as they can remember (some 25-30 years).

Commercial is now soft, not bottomed out, but soft. It will take investors coming off the sideline and returning to the playing field.

Your answer lies in your location and the number of commercial appraisers.

You will have to keep on knocking on doors, and keep on keeping on.