• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Forum Sponsor - a la mode

Learn more about Titan Reports, our new cloud-based formfiller, SmartExchange, Titan Office, and Titan Drive to see how you can revolutionize your appraisal business.

Old Day One-> Nova database conversion = No pix/sketchs/etc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vince

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Using the conversion program in the Nova 5.1 disk, I converted my old Day One files to Nova. Files showed up, but no pix or Apex or other attachements. . . .

Anyone have the same experience? Thanks - Vince
 

Jeff Horton

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Alabama
No experience here but I have a idea you might want to look into. I have not switched to NOVA but I had a similar thing happen with the old version last week. I had to reformat my computer and reinstall all the software. I had the data all backuped but when I went to open an old appraisal all the photos, maps ect. were gone. I worked for 2 hours to recreate one for a lender that had lost the PDF file.

Next day I was doing something and found out what had happened. My data was there but Day1 was looking in the wrong place. I went into file locations and changed it to where the data was stored and it all just magically reappeared. :lol:

Probably not the case for you but its worth taking a look. Also I would assume you just bought the new software, is so then I would call tech support and hope you had the old data backed up!
 

airphoto

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Pennsylvania
Vince,

I'm glad Jeff said it, on account of I was gonna suggest it:

You may find that your updated file is in a different directory from the original, and that all 'attached' files are in the old directory. Try transferring all files except the original appraisal files to the new, or a neutral, directory. If you open a neutral directory then have the updated file recorded to that directory. Your missing attachments may appear ..

Good luck ..
 

Jo Ann Meyer Stratton

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Arizona
Jeff:
I am still using the 16 bit Day One. When I copy a report to another, I go to the MSDOS promt--c:/cd/d1win/data/images
then do a directory search 123*.*
then type in copy 123.*.* 456*.*
And there are all my photos and scanned pages from the old report now in my new report.

The 16 bit program has individual files for each item in the report. The Nova has one file that includes everything and that is one reason I am holding off on buying Nova. I can make the 16 bit behave and do what I want--but the Nova appears to be another story.

How are my problems coming along Frank? Have you found any answers? 8)
 

Vince

Thread Starter
Freshman Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Found the pix in the old directory- that worked, but my Apex sketches I created within Day One that WERE on the 'sketch addenda' are gone?!?! When I launch Apex within a transferred file, still no sketch. All addenda show up but no sketches.

Hhmmm, maybe Apex and Day One are in kahoots. . . .
 

Steven Bonner

Sophomore Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
Vince, just a shot in the dark but you might try going into your integrated Apex from your transferred working file and when you find there is no sketch there, close Apex bringing you to the Day One sketch addendum and then reopen Apex. You may find your sketch there this time. Not sure about the reason for this querk but it works for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks