• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Photo of HUD plate on mfg home for FHA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike Seward

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
I have always included a photo of the red and silver plate on the corner of the mfg home.
Is it a strict requirement for FHA appraisals to include a photo of the plate?
 

CANative

Elite Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2003
Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
California
It's a label, not a plate even though it is metal and the interior paper label is actually the plate. LOL

Not a requirement but I include photos of the exterior data lables and interior data plate.
 

Jo Ann Meyer Stratton

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Arizona
I strongly agree with Greg--include photos of all labels, tags, data plates, and any other insignia or documentation you find. That is for your own protection five years from now when you have to go to court. After all, your work file, notes, etc, etc for every assignment needs to be prepared with that expectation of happening. In Arizona, there are insignias affixed to the home by the professional installer showing what they did and when. That insignia can be proof of whether it has been moved or not (FHA no-no) also has data on whether there are tie downs or anchoring or not (tie downs / anchors are not required in Arizona).
 

Mike Seward

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
Appendix D describes it as a 2' X 4' aluminum plate, then calls it a label or seal. The plate is made of paper and is inside???????

Jo Ann makes a strong case for including photos. The Atlanta HOC made a stronger case. They said a photo of the certification label is required.
 

Mr Rex

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
Not a required exhibit per protocol. But I take the pictures anyway.
 

RSW

Elite Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Tennessee
It's required for FHA REOs.
 

Greg Bell

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Professional Status
Gvmt Agency, FNMA, HUD, VA etc.
State
Louisiana
It's required for FHA REOs.
Correct.No plate(That's what I call it) attached to the unit , no FHA insurance......period.The inside label is good for info and that's all.Photos should be included with the report..
 

RSW

Elite Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Tennessee
It may just be a M&M requirement. I have read so much stuff in the last month. My brain is going to explode.... I just checked in my notes. It is a M&M requirement and not a HUD requirement. it says:

3. HUD Tags – We always prefer that the appraiser include pictures of the HUD tags.
If you forget to take photos, we need a comment in the appraisal noting that the
tags were present and attached to the Manufactured home – or not.

Sorry for the confusion.

My Bad!
 

Mr Rex

Elite Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
Correct.No plate(That's what I call it) attached to the unit , no FHA insurance......period.The inside label is good for info and that's all.Photos should be included with the report..

Greg, for the umpteenth time, that is not an absolute. They can get the info from IBTS and get FHA insurance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Find a Real Estate Appraiser - Enter Zip Code

Copyright © 2000-, AppraisersForum.com, All Rights Reserved
AppraisersForum.com is proudly hosted by the folks at
AppraiserSites.com
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock
No Thanks