• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Please help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tompton

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Minnesota
How do I prove effective age with market support?

Howard Klahr

Professional Status
State
Florida
You extract applicable deprecition from your sales comps

PropertyEconomics

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
New Mexico
Why not use actual age and use market extracted depreciation as your means of adjusting for age?

tompton

Freshman Member
Professional Status
State
Minnesota
So I would adjust for is in the grid like I would for size, location, etc? How do I determine the effective age of the comparables.

Sorry, I am new to this and am in the process of learning what I can.

Thanks

tompton

Freshman Member
Professional Status
State
Minnesota
Yes, they are apartment buildings built in 1959 through 1969. The subject was built in 1969.

tompton

Freshman Member
Professional Status
State
Minnesota
Yes, modest differences

PropertyEconomics

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
New Mexico
IF the modest differences are attributable to square footage, condition, or simply slight variations in market rates, you may well have an instance where 10 years age difference makes no measureable difference in value. My first reaction is that reporting actual age and not making any adjustment for age is probably what is indicated here. Certainly you know your market better than I do, but I would seriously doubt the slight age difference is recognized in sales prices of your comparable sales. That being the case I would not mess with effective ages at all.

Kali the Boston Terrier

Professional Status
State
Michigan
I find people who use effective age for comparables are making a few assumptions: