• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Potential For Commercial Appraisers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matthew Nolan

Freshman Member
I've read a lot of info from the newbie section but it appears to deal more with residential appraising. I'm currently a financial analyst for a high-tech company with extensive education and experience in finance, but I'm looking for something different. I've been researching the real estate industry and appraising sounds both challenging and intellectually stimulating. I also think it's a field where I can apply my skills.

I'm curious what the earning potential is for a commercial real estate appraiser, both as an apprentice and as a certified appraiser.

Also, what are the pros/cons of fee based vs. in-house appraising?

I appreciate your feedback.

Terrel L. Shields

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Arkansas
In house is a plus for newbies. Commercial work is often niche oriented. Requires skills in Business Enterprise Valuation (BEV) for many operating businesses. I suspect the pay would be very low for the first 2 years. Dramatically increase thereafter.

Andrew Urbanek

Sophomore Member
Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Florida
Well If you are soo well educated and heeled...why dont you just type job salaries as a search in yahoo...then select the proper region!

Luzette Eaves

Professional Status
State
New York
Matt, believe it or not, finding the right mentor is more important than your advanced education and experience. network in your area and you will be able to find the right answer to your questions.

Steve Wyrick

Professional Status
State
California