• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Practicums ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JERMCLEMOXX

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Virginia
Hello Fellow Appraisers,
Im a trainee, and wanted to ask, is anyone familiar with practicum courses? If so does anyone know why virtually no one teaches them? New guidelines state appraiser can get up to 50% of their training hours in this aspect. Are practicums hard to get approved by the board? Or is there just a shortage of qualified Appraisers interested in teaching them? Personally I would pay for a quality practicum course for X number of hours.....it would expediate my training and ensure that the course is AQB approved and strenthen my knowledge as I wait for real assignments. Anyone know anything? Thanks.

BRUNO

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Wisconsin
Hello,

That is great question! I am in the same boat, In Wisconsin you can get 50% of your Exp. Hours this way But nobody seems to know were these courses are taught!! I spoke with people at the State level and they can't tell me anybody I thought it had to be State Approved!! Very Frustrating because I am trying to get my hours also and If I don't get them in 2 years (and working a full time job, I won't get them) I will have to take my Test over again. They are really making it hard to be an Appraiser!

daniels4paws

Freshman Member
Professional Status
General Public
State
Virginia
I saw that you are in VA. Have you taken your state test yet? If so, when? I have taken the courses and I'm getting ready to take my state test and I'm looking for a mentor also.

JERMCLEMOXX

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Virginia
Hi,