• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Previous Mentor Refusing To Provide Work Samples.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Greg Brinkley

Freshman Member
Hello everyone. This is my first post as I just recently joined the board. I am currently a licensed trainee in Virginia with roughly 2200 hours experience. I'm just waiting for a few months when I can submit for my license.

Here is my problem. The first appraiser I worked for has thus far refused to provide me with signed copies of the work I did for him. I was basically thrown into the mix from the beginning and was doing the inspections and the whole report from day number two. He also has his shop set up in a way that obviously is not complying with USPAP or state regulations. As I learned more and more and became aware of different things, I sought a new mentor that did things the correct way. It is my belief that he thinks if he gives me the reports, it may become apparent what he is doing. He signs every appraisal as the appraiser but I would put my name on the report as having provided professional assistance. I now believe my name was always removed during the review process which by the way was not done by him or a licensed appraiser. This is why I believe he refuses my repeated attempts to have him send me 7 or 8 examples of my work. I have a copy of every report I did for him but they are not signed.