• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Prospects For The Future

Status
Not open for further replies.

Timobo

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Virginia
Introduction: Hello everyone. My name is Tim Bush, and I live in Virginia Beach, VA. Although I have been reading some of the threads here in AF for a couple of months, I am a new member and this is my first post. From what I have read, you people do not suffer fools, so I will do my best to avoid becoming the latest fodder for abuse. That was a joke, I hope.

The epic journey: I was a precarious lad, engrossed with a love of wine, women, and song. In short, I was a young musician attempting to earn a living playing music. At the age of 26, hoping to do something with my life, I enrolled in college, earning an Associates Degree in Electronics two years later at the age of 28. Yeah, the numbers aren't jibing, but work with me here. I put myself through college by painting apartments as they became vacant and in preparation for the prospective tenant. I enjoyed the independence of working on my own, and the rewards that hard work could offer. So, believe it or not, after I graduated from college I became a licensed house painter. I am now 45 years old and have been a sole proprietor in the painting business ever since. However, for years now it has become more and more apparent to me that I wanted more of a challenge for myself. I also realize that there will come a time when climbing ladders day after day will no longer be physically possible, or prudent.