• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Pvc-abs Piping

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liz South

Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
Virginia
Did an FHA inspection this a.m. In checking the crawl space, I saw that the water piping was a combination of PVC (white) and ABS (black) piping. These two types of plastic pipe DO NOT belong together. There is no known glue that will bond these two types of piping. The puchaser/borrower was in the crawl space at the same time as I was and to make the situation even stranger - he is an inspector for the county. He also saw the problem with the mismatched pipes. There was no leak, but its just a matter of time before the glue breaks free. Could last who knows how long. The mismatch of these pipes do not meet building codes. (I was a licensed plumber in my younger life).

Most appraisers wouldn't know this fact unless it was pointed out to you. (no offense but unless you have plumbing background you wouldn't recognize this problem)

Should I condition this on the VC sheet. Its not a problem now, its not leaking right now, but the borrower knows that it is wrong and I know its wrong, but the fact that I know its wrong is not in my capacity as an appraiser, but from being a plumber.

Looking for astute advice.

Liz S.

Jeff Horton

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
Alabama
I don't see why it matters how you know it is a problem. Just that you do know it is a problem. So I would say report it. I think not reporting a known problem is simply wrong. Doesn't matter who you are or were.

I am a home inspector and if I happen to know something like that I report it.

Professional Status
Retired Appraiser
State
Florida
I would report it, stating that no current leak was noted, but that this combination is known for not holding together.