• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Question About Comps.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marty Shaw

Freshman Member
I'm a noob so take it easy on me, please. :blink: Here's a scenario: Subject is on 1 acre, and a comp is on 2 acres; subject has a pool, comp does not. You take off $1,000 for the difference in acreage and add $5,000 for the pool to adjust value towards subject. My question is where do these numbers come from? How do you know the pool is worth $5,000. Why not adjust by $1,000 or $6,000?

-Marty
Confused, but learning (trying to, anyway).

Frank Lostracco

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
New Jersey
You need to go in the MLS and do some research. Compare previous sales in your marketing area to see what a pool is worth and what an acre of land is worth. All numbers that are used to make an adjustment need to come from the market.

Mike Garrett RAA

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
State
Colorado
There is this magical list that is part of the appraiser's secret society. Until you become one of us you cannot have access to our list!

Your supervisory appraiser should be able to help you with adjustments. It is an art form not a science; however, the answer to your question lies in the mystical "pairs analysis". Use the force my jedi student, use the force!

Consider this......

Sale #1 a house on one acre sold for $100,000
Sale #2 a house on one acre sold for $100,000
Sale #3 a house on two acres sold for $120,000

What is the value of one acre of land?

This is simplistic but until you understand the concept you can't say what adjustment is necessary. Those adjustments come from the market and appraisers are trained to interpret the market.

Lets complicate the problem...

Sale #1 a house on one acre sold for $100,000