• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Question for other trainees.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MAIorBust

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Texas
Just curious to know what fee split other trainees are making and will make...I started out at 24% before I got my trainee liscense as a "researcher". Now I am up to 30% in my final 20 months as a trainee. I have been told I will move to 40% after I get my general. I have no health benefits nor retirement plan. Right now I only care about getting my education but there will be a time where I will make a stink about my pay....What about you?

I am a commercial trainee in south Mississippi.

The Warrior Monk

Staff member
Professional Status
State
New York
IMHO, 40% is not enough for a general-certified appraiser with no benefits. I say a minimum split of 50/50.

Greenback

Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Louisiana
With Residential, I started out at 40% and lasted for three reports. After that, I started earning 50%. Now, not even half way way through my eperience credits, I get 65% and sometimes 100%. I pay for my supervisor to meet me at the property and walk through it, observe measurement, and review / sign the report. I do all the work (100%).

I don't pay attention to what percentage I get with commercial and right of way. I don't care what percentage I get to tell you the truth. I just care about my experience and getting my points. I get paid what I need from those reports, whether it is an electric bill or something like that. Sometimes its this much and that much.

I try to keep my mind off of money because its not as mportant to me being a Trainee. It's in the top 5 or 3 for sure, though. I would prefer to use my time thinking about other things and then worry about the money.