• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Questionable Appraisal practice

Status
Not open for further replies.

DanWaechter

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Licensed Appraiser
State
California
I am a newbie that was just hired on by a VERY VERY busy appraisal company that deals solely with residential properties. Although I just started last week, I have a few serious questions that have arisen regarding the legality of certain things that the company is doing (or not doing).

As I indicated, I just received my Trainee license, but during my first couple days at work, the 'training' consisted of the boss taking me out on one appraisal, and then saying 'here you go'. I know there are real problems with the competancy rule when it comes to that type of so called training, but I have also found that the boss really doesnt even work in this office, but rather another office and there are NO licensed appraisers in our office who review the reports before they go out. Also, all the other 'appraisers' in the office were hired WITHOUT even a Trainee License, and I believe four appraisers have not even taken one single appraisal class :!: . Is this legal for so-called "appraiser trainees" who dont even have a trainee license, or proper supervision, to be doing appraisals and having those appraisals sent out and never reviewed by a licensed appraiser :?: All the so-called appraisers in the office who dont even have a trainee license have no idea of what the Cost Approach is rather than "that number should be within $1000 of your final Sales Approach Value.

How do I first look into whether the owner has a license in this state, and also, what are potential risks for everyone in the company, including the unlicensed trainee's?

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Please ask if you have any questions at all.