• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Real Estate Law/Ethics

Status
Not open for further replies.

D-Max

Professional Status
Certified Residential Appraiser
State
North Carolina
I was completing a report today and the lender/client wants 1 pending sale. There was only 1 pending sale in the neighborhood so I included it. I called the listing agent to see if she would provide me with any info. She raked me over the coals telling me that she could not legally or ethically provide that confidential information because I was not involved in the transaction. As a licensed broker I remember something about this but I can't remember if it is law or REALTOR ethics.

The lender is now riding my case that they want me to use the contract price and not the list price. I told them that I couldn't legally obtain the information but they are insisting that I use another pending sale.

Thomas Fiehler

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Ohio
Very common practice around here also. Now if is an agent I know, I can probably the the information. Your software likely has a page for listings so just insert the data on that form-it doesn't ask for Sales Price, only the listing data.

Couch Potato

Elite Member
Professional Status
State
North Carolina
The lender is now riding my case that they want me to use the contract price and not the list price. I told them that I couldn't legally obtain the information but they are insisting that I use another pending sale.
Provide him with the brokers number. Explain you will be glad to use the contract price if he can convince the broker to send you a copy; otherwise he will have to settle for the list price.

I would never give you any information on a pending sale contract if you were not involved in the transaction. Only a fool would do that.

USPAP Compliant