• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Residential Classes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michigan CG

Staff member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Michigan
It is hard for some to believe, but I live in a MSA of about 360,000 and most residential is very cookie cutter. I also find rural properties pretty easy, maybe because I have lived here for so long.

I have been visiting my future home county in Michigan for almost two years and there seem to be a lot more "odd" properties. I am guessing when I move that I will be doing more residential assignments and only doing big assignments in Iowa.

My question is, I want to be the best residential appraiser I can be, armed with the most education and tools I can get my hands on. I am thinking about taking the following courses and would like to know others inputs on them. I have about 300 total hours of appraisal education hours not including continuing ed and wonder if I will be "bored" with these classes in that they might be too elementary. As a hobby (I am a geek) I read appraisal books and have read about three residential books cover to cover in the last year including the AI residential appraisal book (which I found to be educational, but sometimes too elementary with my experience).

The courses are all offered this spring from the AI:

-Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use

-Residential Valuation and Cost Approach

-Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach

-Residential Report Writing and Case Studies

Thank you for your opinions.

seattle98116

Professional Status
State
Washington
Timothy,