• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Rural Appraiser Shortage And Statistics

Status
Not open for further replies.

SD Capital Investment

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
South Dakota
I am a state registered trainee in SD and apart of an organization called PASAAD. http://paasd.com/ This group released a letter from the American Bankers Association stating there is shortage of qualified appraisers, particularly in rural areas. This is contrary to what I see on this site, where most say fees are too low because the profession is saturated. Also the appraisal institute released a study showing a 20% decline in active appraisers in the last 8 years. Furthermore, their study shows that based on age trends there should be a large decline (40%) in the next ten years when appraisers age 51-65 move into the 66 & older category if trends stay about the same. Can anyone shed light on this subject based on their own personal experience and connections within the industry. If this information is true then shouldn't fees should increase at the same pace? Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• FinalJointSTEXRuralAppraiserLetter.pdf
    106.3 KB · Views: 3
  • Appraisal profession trends.pdf
    650.8 KB · Views: 5

Terrel L. Shields

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Arkansas