• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Should I stay or should I go

Status
Not open for further replies.

brandonadams234

Freshman Member
Professional Status
Appraiser Trainee
State
Mississippi
Whats up guys! Pretty cool site here with a ton of useful information it looks like. Need some advice....

I am a trainee with all my hours complete for my General. I have taken all my required classes though the Appraisal Institute. I have my college degree. I have 8 more months until I will be eligible to apply for my Generals license.You would think I would be on top of the world right? Not exactly.....

I work in an office that is full of drug use, tax evasion, dishonestly and unfairness. The pay is also a joke. I made 20k last year and did at least one appraisal a week! I made more money in college bar tending. I want to leave so bad but I don't want to be "that trainee". I don't know how much longer I can take it. :shrug:

When should I feel I have paid my dues? This must be what an inmate feels like when he is up for parole. Have a great day and God bless....

Wayne Tomlinson

Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Illinois
Get the General. If you have done all the work, and can qualify, don't give that up.

How would it look on a resume to say: I did all the work and classes to get the CG, but I didn't like the people I worked with. However I know all the stuff, just hire me and let me show you.

At this point you must be used to it. Don't let them win. After the new CG. go off to better pastures, even some other carrer of something. You can always come back to appraising. I spite of the gloom, appraisng is always going to be with us.

I am right now seeing banks being more careful on who they hire. I think that will increase.

Wayne Tomlinson.

PLCG

Professional Status
State
Pennsylvania