• Welcome to AppraisersForum.com, the premier online  community for the discussion of real estate appraisal. Register a free account to be able to post and unlock additional forums and features.

Sources For Data?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Helge Lubmann

Freshman Member
I've been working for a lisenced appraiser for two years now....just recently passed my state test andwaiting for my AT. For the whole two years we've used only three sources for data......FARES...NDC...and of course MLS. I want to venture into other sources of data and test them out to see if the data is more accurate. Can anyone help me by listing what sources you use and where i would be able to obtain that data from....Thanks for the help.

Austin

Elite Member
Professional Status
Certified General Appraiser
State
Virginia
I guess it depends on the services available where you live. In the city and county where I practice I use the tax records. If I am appraising a house in a subdivision I can flip on the computer and search every sale in the subdivision and always do. Then our tax offices have a book of recent sales you can search. The property transfers in both city and county are in the paper every week. If I am doing land or tract appraisals I go to the map rack and see what maps have been recorded recently and look up what was transferred. I pick up auction flyers in the county clerk of court office and check the sale results and keep them on file. Our tax records are pretty good with good property data generally. I use MLS but it seems to me that Realtors are losing their relevance as time goes on. I got my MLS comp book for the 1st quarter of 2003 yesterday and there was a low of 146 sales in the 1st quarter. There are at least 100 or more Realtors so somebody ain’t eating regularly. I haven’t seen that few sales in a quarter for a long time. The combined market is around 100,000 population.

Mike Garrett RAA

Elite Member
Gold Supporting Member
Professional Status